How much does a DUI cost over ten years? If you are facing first-time DUI charges, you may not be aware just how much a DUI has the potential to cost over the long term.
This article dives into all of the charges associated with a DUI in Washington State in order to help drivers understand what they’re up against and what measures they should take to reduce DUI charges.
Continue reading to learn exactly how much a DUI costs or give Leyba Defense a call to schedule a free consultation with an expert DUI attorney.
How Much Does a DUI Cost?
DUIs cost drivers much more than the initial fine and have the potential to follow drivers for the rest of their lives.
A question our DUI attorney, Matthew Leyba gets asked frequently is, “how much does a DUI cost?” And, “how much does a DUI cost over ten years?”
In short, the answer is disheartening and very expensive.
The average cost of a DUI in Washington State is about $4,000, but can climb to over $30,000. Continue reading for a simple breakdown of some of the additional costs associated with a DUI in Washington that can make this number even more expensive.
- Attorney fees: the average cost of working with a DUI attorney in Washington State is $2,000. If you want to know the specifics of how much a DUI attorney will cost you, you should schedule an initial consultation with your attorney of choice.
- First-time DUI fine: $940.50. If it is your second DUI conviction the fine will be around $1,200.
- Lost wages: those convicted of a DUI will spend a minimum of one day in jail and a maximum of 364 days in jail. Calculating lost wages is difficult due to the length of time these sentences may vary, but suffice it to say that a DUI charge has the potential to take a year’s worth of your earnings. If you work in transportation, a DUI can cost you your career.
- IID: an ignition interlock device will cost drivers around $1,300 for the first year. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, Washington State requires you to use an IID for at least a year if you wish to begin driving again.
- Alcohol education program: drivers convicted of DUIs are often made to attend an alcohol education program at their own expense. These courses can range between $175 to $400.
- Possible towing fees: if your vehicle was towed following your DUI arrest, you will be required to pay the towing fee.
- Increased vehicle insurance costs: on average, vehicle insurance will increase in cost around 45% following a DUI in Washington State.
- Lost future opportunities: a DUI conviction will follow you for years to come. It will affect your current work status and limit future job opportunities and career prospects.
How Much Does a DUI Cost Over Ten Years?
So how much does a DUI cost over ten years? The answer — more than you can afford.
If you’ve recently been charged with a DUI and you want to protect your future prospects and financial stability, enlist the services of a seasoned DUI attorney.
A DUI attorney will be able to draw from all of the evidence in order to have your DUI penalties and fines reduced as much as possible.
Facing DUI Charges?
If you are facing DUI charges, contact Leyba Defense today.
Our experienced DUI attorney, Matthew Leyba has been tirelessly representing and defending Washington drivers for more than a decade.
Schedule your free consultation today and take the first step towards freeing yourself from the anxiety of a DUI charge.