BAC for a Person Under 21 Driving: What is The Legal Limit?
While most people know that the legal BAC limit to drive is 0.08%, few people are aware that the legal BAC limit changes depending on age.
If you are under 21 years old, the legal limit of 0.08% doesn’t apply to you. For minors (those under 21), the legal blood alcohol content levels for driving are much lower and can change depending on the situation. For example, were you in a zero-tolerance zone when you were pulled over?
To learn more about what the legal limit on BAC is for drivers under 21, continue reading or give Leyba Defense a call today to schedule a consultation with one of our DUI attorneys.
What is the Legal BAC Limit For a Person Under 21 Driving?
When it comes to alcohol blood content levels for drivers under 21 in Washington State, here are the hard facts:
Driving under the influence as a minor is considered a misdemeanor offense and is penalized heavily in Washington State.
Drivers under the age of 21 with a BAC of 0.02% or higher will receive a minor DUI if they are pulled over and tested.
Keep in mind also that there are areas within Washington State that are zero-tolerance zones. This means that if you are under 21 and driving with a BAC of anything over normal blood alcohol content levels of 0.00%, then you will receive a DUI.
What Are the Penalties For a Minor DUI in Washington State?
If a driver under the age of 21 receives a DUI for driving with a BAC above the legal limit (in their case 0.02%), the driver will receive a fine of up to $1,000 and spend up to three months in jail.
If the driver is convicted of a second minor DUI, they will face an automatic two-year license suspension and potentially greater fines.
While these are the general penalties for drivers who are under 21 driving with a BAC above the legal limit, keep in mind that it is up to the specific judge to have the final say in how severe the penalty is.
Common penalties for minor DUIs include community service, alcohol education classes, or work crew.
What To Do If You Receive a DUI For Driving With a Blood Alcohol Content Above the Legal Limit
DUIs are frightening charges. They result in large fines, weeks or months of lost time, and unhealthy amounts of stress.
If you’ve recently received a minor DUI for driving above the legal BAC limit, it’s essential to contact a DUI defense attorney. A DUI lawyer will be able to help you navigate the penalties and repercussions of getting a DUI conviction while under 21.
If you want to make sure that your DUI conviction has the least amount of impact on your life as possible, get in touch with a DUI attorney immediately.
Schedule a Consultation With a DUI Defense Attorney
Here at Leyba Defense, our firm has years of experience working with DUI and minor DUI cases.
We know how frightening DUI charges are and want to use our legal expertise to mitigate the damage that a DUI can do to your life and prospects.
To ensure the best possible outcome for your DUI case, get in touch with Leyba Defense as soon as possible. To schedule your initial consultation (free of charge), give Leyba Defense a call today.